The Imbert Prize

The ASC is committed to encouraging the development of ideas and best practice in the advancement of risk and security management throughout the UK and each year award an annual prize to worthy recipients in industry, academia and business.  The Prize is named after one of our Patrons, Lord Imbert of New Romney CVO QPM JP, former Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police and Lord Lieutenant of Greater London and comprise of three seperate awards:

The Imbert 'Dissertation' Prize.  An award of a year's free membership to the ASC is given to the author of a selected dissertation as submitted by an academic institution providing security courses in higher education.  Nominated dissertations are submitted by faculty staff and must cover a topic that is relevant to consultancy in security. Current academic institutions invited to participate in the award scheme include  Cranfield University, Loughborough University, Portsmouth and Buckinghamshire New University.

Each dissertation is reviewed by an independent award panel comprising of members and industry practitioners as appointed by the ASC Board.  In 2016, the judging panel decided to award 3 shortlisted candidates; Matthew Finton from Cranfield University (Winner), Kevin Larkins from Portsmouth University (Highly Commended) and Claire Louise Rushton from Leicester University (Highly Commended). All finalists are invited along with one other of their proposers to the annual Imbert Prize luncheon where the award will be declared.  All nominees will recieve a plaque acknowledging their dissertations.

Matthew FrittonWinner of the Imbert Dissertation Prize, Matthew Fritton with Joe Connell, ASC Chairman and Dr Anna Maria Brudenell, Lecturer in Security Studies at Cranfield University. 

The Imbert 'ASC' Prize is awarded each year to an ASC member that has made the most significant contribution to the security consultancy sector in the preceding year as nominated by members of the ASC and as adjudged by the ASC Award Panel.  This year the prize was awarded to Treasurer Bob Martin for his contribution and support in managing the Associations finances.  ASC Consultants Steve Beels, Warren Collins and Nick Johnson were also presented with certificates in recognition for their work in promoting the ASC. 

Bob MartinWinner of the 2016 ASC Prize Bob Martin receiving award from Joe Connell, Chairman of the ASC and last year's recipient Roger Noakes

 The Imbert 'Associations' Prize is awarded to the person making the most notable contribution in the security industry in the preceding year and adjudicated by an ASC Award Panel.  Nominations are submitted each July by leading security organisations in the private security industry sector and including the British Security Industry Association (BSIA), the Security Institute (SyI), the International Professional Security Association (IPSA) and the American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS) - UK Chapter.  The winner is announced at the ASC's annual security conference CONSEC.

Winner of the 2015 Associations Prize Mike White (IPSA) with fellow nominees Mike Tennant (TSI), Professor Martin Gill (BSIA) and Dr Peter Speight (ASIS)


Previous Recipients:

ASC Consultants Prize:
2015: Roger Noakes
2014: Joe Connell

Dissertation Prize:
2015: Peter Finch, Buckingham Shire New University

Associations Prize:
2015: Mike White (IPSA)